Spiritual Eating Disorder

Do you ever read the bible  and you finally just get it?

I feel like I don’t have this happen as much as I would like. But today while I was writing in my journal and reading I “got” something! I had recently heard a man talk about Billy Graham and how he thought of the bible as spiritual food and how he never wanted to miss a meal! When I heard this I was like, “whoa, that is so true” and I was convicted. I got it then but I really got it today.

I feel like I have a spiritual eating disorder. Most days, if not all, I only spiritually eat once and  if I only spiritually eat once then I don’t have enough energy to pour out into others, because I am hungry myself!  But we could also eat a lot and get spiritually fat and this isn’t necessarily a good thing! When we eat a lot in real life, in order to not get fat we have to go to the gym and exercise. So if we are getting all of our spiritual meals, we should be pouring into others, which will keep us spiritually healthy!

It is a constant inflow so that we can overflow into others as my youth pastor Darin says.

So lettuce eat, but don’t forget to exercise!

Untitled drawing

Design by Mere

Leave a Reply

